What Defines Me

You may or may not know this, but I tend to worry & have anxiety. Most of the things I worry about are completely out of my control.

And I’ve been doing this a lot recently.

I found this quote from Fight Club interesting:

You are not your bank account
You are not the clothes you wear
You are not the contents of your wallet
You are not your bowel cancer
You are not your grande latte
You are not the car you drive
You are not your f***ing khaki’s

You have to give up, you have to give up
You have to realize that someday you will die
Until you know that, you are useless

I say let me never be complete
I say may I never be content
I say deliver me from Swedish furniture
I say deliver me from clever arts
I say deliver me from clear skin and perfect teeth
I say you have to give up
I say evolve, and let the chips fall where they may

This is your life, this is your life, this is your life, this is your life
Doesn’t get any better than this
This is your life, this is your life, this is your life, this is your life
And it and it’s ending one-minute at a time

You have to give up, you have to give up
I want you to hit me as hard as you can
I want you to hit me as hard as you can

Welcome to Fight Club
If this is your first night, you have to fight

 

So yeah…up until the “hit me as hard as you can” part…it seems that part of this quote is saying that the world/other people will try to define you, but they can’t. That makes me feel slightly better. I’m currently trying to find ways to calm my nerves.

I guess I should learn to listen to this guy:

Peace Out, people.

Ann

Song of the Day: Chico by The Concretes

Leave a comment