Nixon, Crosley, Schlosser

The schoolyear is almost over; I’m nearly finished with 1/4 of my undergraduate college career. There’s a 90% chance, however, that I will be staying in Denton and going to summer school over the summer. I wish I could say that I’m 100% certain that I will be able to stay here but there are still a couple details that I need to straighten out.

Recently, I’ve fostered a strange fascination with Richard Milhous Nixon. I guess it started when I watched Frost/Nixon over spring break, and then chose to write about the Frost-Nixon interviews for a research paper for my English class. The more I research Nixon, the more I feel that he would have been considered a good president, had he not tried to sabotage George McGovern’s campaign and lied about it, thus betraying the trust of the American people. I mean, he remains the only American to ever be elected both Vice President and President twice. While in office he improved relations with China and the Soviet Union, reduced inflation, and reduced segregation in schools, among other things.

Hmmm, what else…usually it takes me a while to finish books, but I recently read a book in about 4 days: “I Was Told There’d Be Cake” by Sloane Crosley. After reading this book, I’ve concluded that creative nonfiction is my favorite genre. If you have 30 minutes, you should watch this video of Sloane Crosley reading an excerpt from the book:

I recently saw presentations at my school by both Frank Warren of Post Secret and Eric Schlosser of Fast Food Nation. They were both really interesting. Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation was one of the reasons I became a vegetarian five years ago; and it was interesting thinking about this book again now that I’m  not vegetarian (about a month ago I went back to eating meat…maybe I’ll expand on my reasons for doing so in a later post).

I’m realizing that this post was pretty dull; but I wanted to update since I haven’t in a while 😛 Soon hopefully I’ll have something interesting to write about.

Peace and Love,

Ann

Song of the Day: Photograph by Ringo Starr

Leave a Reply

