Ann expresses her appreciation for BAND.

Out of all the influential people, places, events, and things that have shaped my life and contributed to the person I am today, I must say that right up there with my religion, family, and friends is BAND.

I joined band and started playing the French horn when I was eleven years old. I stayed in band all throughout middle school, high school, and my first year of college. Throughout my career as a bandmember I competed countless times, held various leadership positions including drum major, and of course performed a great deal. I learned so much, not only about music but about so many other things as well…hard work, perseverence, leadership, teamwork, dealing with people, how to handle success, how to handle dissapointment, etc. Some of my best friends and the most awesome, genuine people I know I met in band. I know some of these things sound kind of sappy, but I mean them sincerely. There are some lessons I learned that I now realize, if I hadn’t learned them in band, where would I have learned them?

My high school band came and performed in a competition at my college today in the Murchison Performing Arts Center. It’s only been a year since I was a member of that band, but as I watched and listened to them I was still overcome with feelings of nostalgia and fond memories. It was the first time I had been to a concert of theirs that I had not been performing in. I thought they sounded amazing and was very proud of them. I brought my friend Tyler and, as a former band member himself, he enjoyed it as well.

I was never a superstar-French horn player, but I did put effort into my practicing. I think I peaked my Junior year of high school as far as my playing abilities went. That was when I memorized the Allegro movement of Mozart’s 3rd Horn Concerto, earned a “1” at region solo and ensemble, and was able to advance to the state competition (I got nervous and recieved a “2” at state, but ah well). I found Mozart’s 3rd Horn Concerto and listening to it, again, brought back memories; and also caused me to realize how much I want to pick up the horn again and play regularly. So here it is. I felt like such a badass when I would play this:

(I of course didn’t sound THIS good…my tone wasn’t nearly this mature and my cadenza was much shorter, but it was awesome to play nonetheless 😉 )

I wanted to use this post to acknowledge the significant influence that band has had on my life. Thank you, band!! (Yes, I realize that I sound like a really big nerd right now)

Peace and Love,

Ann

Song of the Day: Strange Humors by John Mackey

One thought on “Ann expresses her appreciation for BAND.

  1. I think not only band, but the French Horn itself has had such an influence on your life. We have Ms. Reyes to thank for leading you in that direction. You’ve GOT to read “A Devil to Play” when you get the chance.

Leave a Reply

