Four Simple Goals

I tend to, very often, be a goal-setter. Less often however am I a goal achiever. I have been inspired by Elsie Flannigan’s 4 Simple Goals (before 2011) project. Thus, I have set four goals that I plan on pursuing, blogging, and achieving!

These are the guidelines for setting the goals:

1. choose simple goals that will make your life richer and happier on a daily basis. choose things you may not otherwise get done, but that are not difficult to accomplish. 

2. do not choose result oriented goals, choose activity oriented goals. for example…. instead of “lose 10 pounds”, choose something like “eat fresh fruits and vegetables every day”. get what i’m saying? positive actions instead of just the end result! 

3. choose goals that are personal that you believe will truly make your life richer just by doing them! they can be daily, weekly or one time experiences. 

4. choose a reward for each goal as it is accomplished! it can be a small or large reward. 

5. blog your goals, each one as you achieve it and a big post when they are all finished before the new year! i’ll be doing this too! links back to this post are appreciated. 

4-simple-goals

When it came to be setting my own goals, I had several in mind that I have been trying to accomplish for a while now. In some ways, I have always had these things on my mind, but seeing a couple of them written on other people’s blogs (yes, i know, I’m a copycat) helped me realize how to express abstract thoughts and notions in my mind as articulate sentences. Here are my goals:

1. Treat current friends and family as a priority, not an option. I say it all the time…that I’m “terrible at ‘getting back’ to people.” Whether it comes to wishing someone happy birthday, returning phone calls, writing thank-you notes, or getting in touch with people “just because,” I have been an epic failure. Once I moved to Denton and started my life up here, it became increasingly difficult to juggle communications with my Round Rock friends and Denton friends. My mother claims to have trouble with this too. BUT, I’m not going to say that failure to communicate is part of my genetic code 😉 I CAN keep in touch with the people that matter most, and I will.

2. Get healthy. I’m talking more specifically about working out. It seems to go the same way every time I try to exercise: the moments leading up to the physical activity I dread it, but after my work-out I feel awesome. I will go a few weeks exercising pretty regularly, and then go a few weeks just thinking about how much I should be exercising but not actually doing it. I need to stop making mental excuses (I’m tired, I worked out yesterday, it’s hotter than Hell’s kitchen outside, etc.) and just do it. I think I have pretty good eating habits, except for my tendency to sometimes consume large amounts of chocolate. This doesn’t happen on a daily basis, I need to keep it that way.

3. Actively look for ways to get involved in the surrounding community. I live on a college campus, this should be the easiest goal on my list! Last year, unfortunately, I failed to realize that there was life outside my dorm room until about halfway through the second semester. Sure, I would walk around campus and went to club meetings, but more often than not I was an observer rather than a participator. So other than homework or studying, I really have no excuse to sit in isolation for extended periods of time.

4. Write. It is one of my favorite things to do, and that should be enough reason! Writing is a practical skill to have, I have fun with it, and I can be good at it. ‘Nuff said.

When I set goals in the past, I would sometimes write a whole laundry list of them and then not know where to start. I wrote a “to do before I die” list, but since I’m younger than Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman by many years I did not feel much of a sense of urgency to accomplish anything on the list.

I think that my four new goals are simple enough to work on every day, and can actually be accomplished (or at least be approved upon) by the end of this year. These are more than just goals, though. I hope to make these goals into habits. And now that I can blog about the progress I am making in achieving these goals, I have no excuse to not update this blog 🙂

4 simple goals

Peace and Love,

Ann

Song of the Day: Hong Kong Garden by Siouxsie & The Banshees

One thought on “Four Simple Goals

Leave a Reply

