Bibliophile.

Since I have been out of school for winter break, I have been readingreadingreading nonstop. One of my all-time favorite things to do, especially in the mornings, is to brew a cup of coffee and then just SIT and READ. And as much as I love reading, during the school year I really only have time to read textbooks and school-related works. So I’m trying to cram in as much pleasure-reading as possible during this break.

I read books, magazines, online blogs…anything! I generally prefer creative nonfiction – e.g. essays, memoirs, etc. – to fiction.

With Christmas money, I have taken a couple of excursions to Book People and Barnes & Nobel. Alright, some girls blow money on shoes…some girls blow money on bags…I blow money on books.

A worthy investment, right?

^Pic taken by me, not fished from elsewhere on the internet, thanks to my working Nikon!! 😀

Books on my list:

  • Decision Points by George W. Bush – I’m almost finished with this one.
  • The Best Creative Nonfiction Vol. 2 (several authors)
  • My So-Called Freelance Life by Michelle Goodman
  • Young Guns: A New Generation of Conservative Leaders by Paul Ryan, Eric Cantor, and Kevin McCarthy

Oh, I mentioned magazines too.

Most magazines marketed toward women make me want to vomit. But I LOVE “Real Simple” Magazine. No pointless celebrity news…just straight-to-the-point, practical tips.

^Yes, behind me is my messy room that I haven’t been in very much since I graduated high school.

Several times during finals week, I was tempted to buy “Real Simple.” But I resisted, knowing that it would be too easy for me to read up on “Be happier! 9 surprising strategies to get you there!” than actually study Italian grammar or International Relations.

However, I couldn’t resist John Boehner’s FACE on the cover of Time.

^Mr. Speaker…Awwwww yeah!!

It’s Christmas break and I can read books/magazines if I want to. You should too!! And like I said on facebook a couple days ago…

It’s Christmas break and I can eat (drink) Dunkin’ Donuts if I want to. Resolution schmesolution!

Do something that you enjoy, that you don’t usually have time for, and make me proud!!

What do you like to read? What do you like to do that you usually don’t have time for?

Peace and Love,

Ann

Song of the Day: Heaven Must Be Missing an Angel by Tavares

Leave a Reply

