[Major] Accomplishment

Tuesday marked the beginning of the Spring 2011 semester at UNT. My fourth semester in college. I am proud to announce that I have finally decided on a major and minor! On Wednesday I officially made the switch to a major in Journalism and a minor in Political Science. Thus, I have successfully scratched out #10 on my 100 Before 21 list. I told myself that if I changed my major for a third time, that I would have to stick with that decision.

So here I am, Journalism major. No changing majors for a fourth time. No looking back. THIS IS IT!

4356307445_d8830ddac8_z_large

I am so excited. And it feels very nice to have some closure. …Providing that things go for me as planned, which is a huge “asterisk” on the deal, but hey…at least I have a plan now!

I am in the process of having some travel plans lined up for May/June. I have been working on these for a while now, but I haven’t told many people or blogged/tweeted about them because I don’t want to jinx my chances of them transpiring. Yes, I just used the word “jinx”…lame and superstitious of me, I know. But I don’t want to blog about my plans as if they are set in stone, and then see them fall through. So yes, for now I am praying to God that everything works out for me to travel.

I am so excited.

What else is new? 17 hours of course work. Yes…seventeen hours. That includes three labs. More hours than I have ever taken on before. But I feel like if I have waited this long to decide on my major, I want to get my pre-reqs out of the way ASAP and not waste any time. Considering that one class is online and another is 1/3 online, I think I should be OK. Albeit, only one week of school has passed in this semester, and it was only a four-day week. And I don’t want to jinx my chances at succeeding in my 17-hour endeavors (there I go again with the “jinx” thing…). However, since I changed my major, I have been feeling a strangely high amount of motivation.

Maybe this is just a honeymoon season with my new ideas, and my feelings of euphoria will wane over time. But I want to hang onto this newfound zeal for as long as possible and get as much done while I have it.

Did I mention how excited I am?

Wow, my fingers can move and type really fast when I’m caffeinated.

Peace out, people.

Ann

Song of the Day: Like a G6 by Far East Movement ft. The Cataracs (OK, so I really do not like this song, but Tyler heard this song and thought that instead of the lyrics saying “Fly like a G6” they were saying “Fried like a cheese stick.” I thought this was really funny and I like singing this song with Tyler’s lyrics. I know, we’re mature adults.

Leave a Reply

