Regrouping

For some reason, I’m always caught by surprise when I flip the page on my calendar. “It’s [insert month here] ALREADY??” And when I changed my calendar to March the other day, I felt no different. Which is strange, because February is the shortest month of the year. Hmm…Well, I was pretty busy. Which would explain why I haven’t updated in a while…

Valentine’s Day

For Tyler’s Valentine’s Day present, I decided to cook a meal. I made the Mini Pork Rack with Roasted Potatoes and Green Beans recipe that I found on RealSimple.com. I was nervous about cooking this meal…I was afraid that I would burn the food, or possibly Tyler’s whole kitchen and apartment. Thankfully, this didn’t happen. The pork was a little more well-done than I would have liked (but hey, it’s better than the pork being too bloody), and some of the green beans were a little burnt. BUT the meal was a success despite these imperfections…and the potatoes were probably the best part.

…Due to having a limited availability of resources, I was not able to actually make dessert myself…So I went to the bakery at Kroger and picked out the most fancy-looking dessert that they had. I ended up getting Tyler and I these chocolate “things” (for lack of a better term) filled with chocolate mousse. Tyler described them as “decadent”…

NOM NOM NOM!!!

So yes, Valentines Day went well. We were able to have a good time without spending too much money or being too commercial. And I was able to scratch off number 19 from my “100 Before 21” list 😀

Regrouping

I joined a home group from church and I am LOVING it!! In doing so I successfully scratched off number 2 from the aforementioned list. Seriously; it’s one of the best things I’ve done to get to know people since I got to college. Anyway, happy Ann 🙂

This month I am trying the “Proverb-a-day” challenge. There are 31 chapters in the book of Proverbs, and 31 days in March. I am reading a chapter for each corresponding  day. It’s going well so far…

DCRP-LRD

February 26, I volunteered (along with the other NT College Republicans) at the Denton County Republican Party Lincoln-Reagan Day Dinner. To correctly chronicle this experience, I would have to dedicate a whole blog post to it. BUT, in a nutshell: We (the CRs) got to the venue at 9:30am, helped to set up, got to attend a fancy dinner with keynote speaker Alan Keyes and mingle with important local people for FREE, stayed afterward and helped clean up, finally left at 1:30 am. Whew.

This is a dressy affair…so the weekend before I went with a few friends to find attire to wear to it. Just the girls needed dresses, the guys came along for fun. But they spent MUCH more time playing dress-up than we did…and they weren’t even buying anything!! Haha.

Exhibit A: This picture taken in the Express dressing room:

…I gotta say, they look pretty snazzy though.

Here is a pic of Tyler and I at the actual LRD dinner:

I’m wondering how I look so awake and alert. By this point, I felt like a zombie.

__________

I was alerted a few days ago that the travel plans that I have alluded to in the past are cancelled. Oh well *sigh*What are you gonna do? I was going to study abroad in Italy. Now I’ll just find another way to spend my summer. Hey, at least I get a crap-ton of money back! haha…or should, anyway.

Hoping I’ll get to post again soon,

Peace and Love,

Ann

Song of the Day: All the Words by Kutless

One thought on “Regrouping

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Blogging! – Days 1 & 2 « ANN in real life.

Leave a Reply

