My first GTKY post!

Happy Sunday!

While wandering around the blog-o-sphere this afternoon, I happened upon the MannLand5 blog’s Getting to Know You post! I decided I would blog the questions before shutting my laptop and beginning studying for my *glorious* statistics exam tomorrow. So, here they are:

1. do you watch/read the news?
I am a Journalism-News Ed major. The news is my passion.
Fox News is my TV news network of choice. However, I try to watch my share of CNN and MSNBC as well, for the sake of not becoming too biased.
My go-to online news source is The Daily Beast, which is pretty balanced as far as right vs. left goes. Recently I’ve been checking the Drudge Report. Both of these sources have good twitter accounts that I follow.
When I’m driving, I listen to several news stations on the radio (I actually prefer talk radio to music): WBAP, NPR, and the occasional KCBI news broadcast.
The print news source I consistently read is the NT Daily, UNT’s student newspaper. I recently joined the staff of the NT Daily as an intern! I hope to be regularly contributing soon…I’m super excited about it!
2. how would you describe your “look”?
Umm…not super designer-y or label-y. I wear a lot of jeans and T-shirts, because that’s easy and I am a college student, after all. I really enjoy dressing up, though. I LOVE Zooey Deschanel’s style, and if I could switch wardrobes with anyone it would be her, hands down.
I’m not much of a fashionista (like my roommate), but I read Elsie Flannigan’s fashion blog because I admire her style as well.
3. did you play sports in high school or college?
I was in marching band throughout high school and my freshman year of college. Technically not a *sport*, per se; but I know a lot of people who would challenge that claim.
I have grown to enjoy fitness, but I am NOT a “sporty” person by any means. I tried two brief stints as a lacrosse player. Never again.
4. would you rather give up lipstick/gloss or high heels?
High heels, no contest. Because:
1) I love lip gloss. My favorites are my mentha-mint lip gloss from Bath & Body Works and some Red Velvet cake-flavored lip gloss…also from the Bath & Body Works!
Mentha Lip Shine - C.O. Bigelow - Bath & Body Works
2) High heels HURT. Yes, I look cute in them. Yes, I can work them. …For, like, no longer than an hour. After that, my feet are begging for me to ditch the heels. During my trip to CPAC last year, I made the mistake of spending a whole day roaming Washington, DC while wearing heels. I received blisters so terrible that they caused me to limp for the next few days. I still have scars on my heels from them, in fact. Sorry if that was TMI.
Besides, I’m 5’7″, and heels just make me look even taller. So It’s not like I need them, or anything. Smajstrla women tend to be pretty tall, my little sister is a good inch taller than me!

5. what’s your favorite show to watch on tv?
MAD MEN! I don’t have a TV at the moment, so I own all of the seasons on DVD. I have watched seasons 1-3 and cannot WAIT to start on season 4.
Mad-men_large
I’ve also seen just about every episode of Ace of Cakes.
6. would you rather bake or cook?
I really enjoy both, and find both therapeutic. I actually don’t like having a meal plan at the moment, because I would rather cook and bake my own food! (of course, I say that now…).
I have baked far more than I have cooked, so I consider myself better at baking. As soon as I move into an apartment with a kitchen I plan on improving my skills at both. Maybe one day I’ll be a full-fledged foodie.
7. shorts or skirts?
I find both comfortable. I’d have to choose skirts, though. I like dressing up because 9 times out of 10 I dress super casual.
8. what’s your favorite scary movie?
I have two.
I like Night of the Living Dead. My cousins (on my mom’s side of the family) and I used to watch this every year on the fourth of July while I was growing up. Why the fourth of July and not a more appropriate day, like HALLOWEEN, I don’t know. It’s a strange tradition, but a sentimentally valuable one nonetheless. My cousins and siblings used to chase each other around, arms stretched overhead, saying, “They’re coming to get you, Barbara!” Ah, childhood.
I also like Paranormal Activity. It seems that everyone I meet who has seen it either really likes it or really hates it. I really like it. I find its background/production story interesting, so that factors into me liking it more.
Can’t wait to do more of these 🙂
Peace and Love,
Ann
Leave a Reply

