What the Health?: Intro

I’ve been blogging for a while now (since I got a Xanga when I was 13), but only recently have I started reading other blogs on a regular basis. I love it! There is a blog out there for just about anything you could imagine, fashion, politics, travel, food, …I could go on. One of my favorite types of blogs to read is health blogs! Health blogs, like Healthy Tipping Point and the “Does a Body Good” section of Rachel Wilkerson’s blog, provide me with a plethora of new information, ideas for exercising/eating, inspiration, and motivation.

Tumblr_lg8ecfq1fv1qglcsho1_500_large

[source]

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about health, it’s this: that health is a journey, not necessarily a destination. I have always known that health is important, but I haven’t always known what the best way is to go about pursuing a healthy lifestyle.

When I first realized my junior year of high school that: my metabolism was slowing down, that I needed to stop living off of Dr. Pepper and waffles, and that I had to get up from my seat at the computer and break a sweat for once, I found myself thinking…

“WHAT the health?”

Calories? Carbohydrates? Resting heart rate? Target heart rate? Body Mass Index? I heard all the fitness and nutrition jargon, but wasn’t really sure what to make of all of it. I knew that I was supposed to exercise, but wasn’t sure where to start. I wanted to eat right, but my diet consisted of mostly CARBS with the occasional fruit or vegetable (and sweets; lots and lots of sweets…).

Needless to say, changes were made. I learned the strange terms. I tried different forms of physical activity until I found something that worked for me; something that I enjoyed, even. I learned to incorporate plenty of protein, fiber, healthy fats, and other good things into my diet as well as carbs. I learned, but it didn’t happen all at once.

It’s overwhelming at first. I know, because I’ve been there. I figured it out eventually through trial and error, and I’m still learning more every day. I remember how much I valued hearing good, sound advice. I take in as much as I can!

“What the health” (WTHealth?) is going to be a “column” that I write on this blog about my experiences about pursuing a healthy lifestyle; such as: how I am working out,  what I am eating, new things I’m trying, and how I’m managing (or not managing…) to do it all while living the life of a college student.

If you’re like me, you don’t want complicated jargon thrown at you. You don’t want a product or diet system to be pitched to you (hello, shake weights!). AND you don’t want erroneous details that are just going to confuse you even more. You want real, up-front advice. As in, this is what I’ve tried and here’s what you should know about it.

I’m thinking about doing the column every Wednesday, but I’m not sure yet. I want to do WTHealth? on a weekly basis, for sure.

Topics are going to include: healthy eating, exercise, sleep, cooking, healthy college lifestyle, motivation, and…

NOT HATING YOUR BODY!! 🙂

Tumblr_livubikp461qgmqzpo1_400_large

[source]

Trying to be more healthy can be a daunting task. You shouldn’t have to feel like you’re doing it alone. Put on your sneakers and join me!

Peace and Love,

Ann

Leave a Reply

