Going the Distance

Last night I tweeted:

Hahaha…what I SHOULD have said was, “Who knows if I’ll actually WAKE UP to run, jog, walk, or even CRAWL the whole way…?” Because I woke up around 9ish this morning. The race started at 8am! I had turned on my alarm on my phone, but forgot to change it from being set to go off only Monday – Friday. AAAaaaggghhhhhh :-/

So, I have found THREE races that I am planning on running; and that I WON’T accidentally not set an alarm for:

1) The DACTU Dash 5K – May 21st

2) The Heels and Hills 5K – September 25

3) Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K – October 15

Needless to say, I am excited about gettin’ my race on later this year. My “training” is going to start ASAP <— That sounds weird, because I have never really “trained” for anything; and trying to imagine myself doing so makes me picture myself working out in a montage, Rocky-style. Just try not to watch this video without afterwards feeling like running up every flight of staircases in the world. That’s going to be ME by the end of this year 😉

And oh yeah, I’m adding Vibram FiveFingers shoes to my birthday list:

I am a COMPLETE newbie to running and training. I can use all the advice I can get. If you have any for me, please share! 🙂

And bt-dubs, look at this DELICIOUS meal I had at The Cupboard yesterday:

Coffee, tomato basil soup, and salad with all sorts of items from the salad bar.

Thanks everybody.

Peace and Love,

Ann

Song of the Day: The Distance by Cake

One thought on “Going the Distance

  1. oh no!!! I’m sorry that you missed your race but glad to see you are already looking ahead at your next 5K opportunity!!

    My advice for you? Start out slow and listen to your body. Don’t feel pressure to push forward until YOU are ready (this is hard!) but don’t allow yourself to sit back and feel like you can’t more forward either! It’s a delicate balance to find – but I know you can do it!

    My advice for your first race? ENJOY EVERY MOMENT! Look around and smile. Take photos – before, after, and if you’re feeling especially ballsy running with your camera – DURING! You will thank yourself later.

    Also- don’t start out TOO fast – your adrenalin will be PUMPING and you need to remember to pace yourself 🙂

    SO EXCITING to read about a the beginning of your running journey!

Leave a Reply

