GTKY II

I started answering the “Getting To Know You” questions from MannLand5‘s blog last week. Now, I am wrapping up my weekend by answering this week’s questions. After this, I’m going to finish up some laundry, study a bit, and then hit the hay.
Earlier I successfully took a jog around campus, and if everything works out tomorrow, then I should be able to jog again.
I can already feel myself getting stressed about the upcoming week; thinking about classes, club meetings, work for the NT Daily, and life in general. I’m trying to meditate on a Bible verse at the moment, and would recommend it to those who, like me, also get the “Sunday night blues” from time to time:
“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?”
– Matthew 6:25-27, ESV
Now here are my answers:
1. what’s something you’ve eaten and liked, but didn’t think you would?
Sardines. My dad first gave them to me when I was 4-ish. I resisted at first, but once I tried them I realized they were surprisingly good.
That makes me want some sardines right now.
2. plastic surgery..yay or nay?
It depends on the type of surgery and the motives behind it. I’ve known a few women who have gotten breast reduction surgery, and it helped them a great deal. I’m also totally for re-constructive surgeries in the case of someone who was in some sort of accident, or had something happen to them to alter their appearance.
If a woman wants breast implants because she is thinking, “My boobs aren’t big enough,” or if she wants a nose job because she is thinking, “My nose is so ugly,” I would urge her to do some soul-searching and praying before she invests the time and money to go under the knife. If she is under the impression that life will be “easier” or that she will be much happier after the surgery, she is probably dead wrong. She may have an underlying issue with body image, insecurity, self-esteem, or a whole number of other things.
Bottom line: A woman considering plastic surgery for vanity reasons should work to cure the root problem, not the symptoms.
Heidi Montag was beautiful before her surgery…now, multiple surgeries later, one wonders if she is finally satisfied with her appearance, or ever will be.
3. 2 things you love about spring are…..?
One: the weather (duh). Today, it was beautiful. I’m glad I took advantage of it by taking a jog 🙂
Two: Easter! Such a happy holiday…read Luke 24.
4. when’s the last time you went on a picnic?
Oh wow, I can’t even remember. Not good! A picnic date with Tyler is definitely in order…soon!! 😉
5. what’s your favorite app?
I don’t have an iPhone, or a “smart” phone that can get apps. However, Tyler does, and I LOVE his Starbucks App! The Starbucks App helps locate the closest Starbucks to where you are currently located. We have used it a few times when driving around in unfamiliar territory. It’s great; seriously, I want to find whoever came up with it as an idea and hug them.
And, because I am a political science nerd, I would probably get the Real Time Congress app if I had a smart phone.
6. who does the grocery shopping in your house?
Well, since I’m currently living the college dorm-fabulous lifestyle, just me. I have a meal plan (that I can’t wait to ditch because I love to cook) so I only have to worry about making my meals on the weekends. My roommate and I go to the store together occasionally, but we each buy our groceries separately.
7. would you rather take a spin class or zumba?
Zumba! I have taken one Zumba class before, and it was great! I would like to go again. Unfortunately the UNT rec center only offers about one Zumba class per week, and it’s while I have class.
Spin class gives me a good workout, but I’m always pretty sore afterwards in areas that it is highly uncomfortable to be sore in…if you’ve ever taken a spin class, you know what I’m talking about!
8. how often do you go out to dinner?
Too often! On the weekends I tend to get lazy and go out somewhere instead of fixing myself something. I’ll say that it’s The City of Denton’s fault for having an abundance of tasty local eateries 😉 (Hello… Greenhouse! Mr. Chopsticks! The Cupboard! El Guapo’s! I could go on…).
Peace and Love,
Ann
Leave a Reply

