DATCU Dash Recap – My first race EVER!

If you follow me on Twitter or are my friend on Facebook, you may have seen my many posts about the DATCU Dash 5K that I ran this morning.

Sorry if you got annoyed by all those posts.

Well, sort of 😛

This was my first 5K. I was really nervous/excited about it beforehand. And, as you probably guessed, it was a GREAT experience for me!

Yes, I was totally nerdy and took a million pictures of the event!

^ At first I had no idea what to do with the number-band thingy…I found out that it goes on your shoe!

I ended up jogging most of the 3.11 miles. I jogged the whole first mile, walked about half of the second. Then picked it back up and jogged until the end. Honestly, that’s much better than I thought I would do! Considering…

  • I arrived at the race at 7am, after having gone to sleep around 1:30am the night before (& I’m not someone who functions well on little sleep).
  • Final exams and other events gave me little time to train, and
  • …did I mention that this was my first 5K…EVER?
My overall time was 36 minutes, 13 seconds. I finished 218th out of 481. I don’t really know if those times are “good” or “bad,” as I am a complete newbie to races.
But considering that this was my first rodeo, I think I did a pretty good job!
There was a 70-year-old and a 75-year-old running the 5K…and BOTH beat my time!! I was very inspired by their commitment to fitness! When it came time for the awards ceremony, both of them were given awards. People clapped with extra gusto when they received them.
I want to be that 75-year-old that passes a 19-year-old in a race! You MUST read this post about Elaine, the 73-year-old marathon runner. She is such an inspiration!
I want to be like George H.W. Bush and sky dive on my 85th birthday!
My only goal this race was to finish, which I accomplished. I am running another 5K next week, and my goal for that race is to beat my time from this morning. The race is the Stonebridge Memorial Day 5K – the lovely, fellow blogger Heather told me about it, and she will be there! I am uber-excited.
The race this morning was only the beginning of my participation in races! 🙂 I am SO glad that my journey has begun.
Do yourself a favor, and do something that you have always wanted to do, but have never gotten around to doing. You will not be disappointed.
Peace and Love,
Song of the Day:

Let’s Dance by David Bowie (this has been stuck in my head for the last couple of days)

One thought on “DATCU Dash Recap – My first race EVER!

  1. I like what you said about doing something you’ve always wanted to do . . . This was back in April, but I’m still proud of myself for climbing that rock wall and going down the zip line!! Something else on my list is to go to Bonnaroo. I may have to go with you kids because Dad doesn’t seem interested, but I’ll bet if we go he would end up going.

Leave a Reply

