Day 03 – Your Views on Drugs and Alcohol

Today is Day 3 of the 30-Day Blogging Challenge. The prompt of the day is:

Your Views on Drugs and Alcohol

Cheery, right?

I’ll start with drugs:

Tumblr_l18po521zn1qzezj5o1_500_large[source]

I am part of the “Just say no” generation. From kindergarten on, I had the no drugs/no alcohol message drilled into my brain. I am a graduate of the “D.A.R.E.” program.

I agree with about 95% of the drug and alcohol education I received.

There were a few things that I was taught that I disagree with:

First: It seems like we were taught that people who do drugs/drink excessively are bad people.

Secondly: While this was never outright said, the underlying message of some drug/alcohol lessons seemed to be: once you take drugs, your life is permanently screwed up. There is no going back. While I understand why we were taught all of the worst-case scenarios, I disagree with the notion that making one mistake will irreparably ruin your entire life. It is possible, yes. It is also possible, however, to make a mistake, learn from it, and “pull yourself up by your bootstraps” and make yourself better. And I would argue that the latter is more common than the former.

Coming out of the drug and alcohol education that I received in public school, I didn’t know that stories of recovery, like Glenn Beck’s, were even possible. Glenn Beck hit rock bottom with drinking and drugs, but still managed to get cleaned up and build a successful career. (Today he is a crazy right-wing nut…but that’s besides the point. Point is, he’s not on drugs anymore, as far as I know).

As far as legal/political aspects of drugs go, I believe that marijuana should be legalized. I agree with Congressman Ron Paul’s opinion of marijuana legalization, which is summed up very well in this video. When it comes to hard drugs, such as cocaine, heroin, etc., I don’t believe that they should be legalized.

Now for my take on alcohol:

Tumblr_ljcvg8ecbd1qbpemeo1_500_large

[source]

I am currently 19 years of age. 10 days away from being 20. The biggest pain about being this age is definitely not being able to drink and not being able to enter 21 and up bars.

I advocate the drinking age being lowered to 18. There is a great video about the Amethyst Initiative (a campaign to lower the drinking age to 18) here.

For people who can and/or do drink, I believe that moderation is key. I have no problem with people who drink, even people who get drunk (but not plastered) every now and then. I am against getting wasted consistently, and doing irresponsible things while drunk, such as driving.

Have fun, but be responsible, people 😉

Peace and Love,

Leave a Reply

