30 Days of Blogging – Days 4 & 5

More of the 30-Day Blogging Challenge 😀

Day 04 – Your views on religion

I am a Christian. I was raised in the Christian church, and throughout my childhood my family attended churches of different denominations. My family moved twice while I was growing up, and we didn’t consistently go to churches of the same denomination each time we moved. But every church was Christian.

Denominations I have belonged to throughout my lifetime are Disciples of Christ, Methodist, and Episcopalian. The church I am a member of now, The Village Church, is Baptist.

I consider myself non-denominational. I’m a follower of Jesus, and it’s as simple as that.

I agree with the statement of faith of The Village Church, which you can read here.

I have struggled with my faith before, and I still do (Who doesn’t?/hasn’t?). One of my favorite posts on this blog is this one, where I talk about my faith and my struggles.

I encourage everyone to give faith a chance 🙂 & I’m always free to talk about it.

Jesus_large[source]

I also research other religions every now and then, because I find them interesting.

Day 05 – A time you thought about ending your own life.

Thankfully I have never been in a position where I have considered suicide. I feel blessed to have never had depression that escalated to that point.

I have known people who have been affected by suicide. In high school, I walked with a friend and his family in an Out of the Darkness community walk, sponsored by the American Society for Suicide Prevention. My friend had lost a relative (I think it was an aunt?) to suicide.

At the walk, there was a memory board where people could post pictures of loved ones who had committed suicide. I was shocked and saddened at the number of pictures I saw on that board. The deceased were of all ages: the elderly, middle-aged, and even quite a few teenagers.

That walk really opened my eyes to the number of people who are dealing with inward battles. It made me wonder how many people are just putting on a happy façade and are actually hurting on the inside.

Like I said before, I have never contemplated ending my own life. But I have dealt with anxiety and depression.

There’s a great quote from the movie, Prozac Nation, that I believe describes depression well:

“Hemingway has his classic moment in “The Sun Also Rises” when someone asks Mike Campbell how he went bankrupt. All he can say is, “Gradually, then suddenly.” That’s how depression hits. You wake up one morning, afraid that you’re gonna live. “

The “Gradually, then suddenly” part of that quote really stuck with me the first time I heard it. I would have never thought to articulate how depression hits in that manner, but I still think it makes perfect sense.

This may sound cheesy, but I can honestly say that my faith has helped me tremendously with anxiety and depression. Again, I blogged about it here, in a post that I mentioned earlier.

Tumblr_lm17gn6odd1qkhfr3o1_400_large

[source]

To Write Love On Her Arms is, in my opinion, a GREAT cause! I recommend anyone to visit their website.

It’s true:

Rescue is possible.

Peace and Love,

Song of the Day: Sing by She & Him

Leave a Reply

