College Cooking: Turkey & Veggie Spaghetti

Last night, I was hungry for dinner, and I decided that I had had enough of fast food and Easy Mac. So I decided to channel my inner June Cleaver and cook myself a meal.

I chose a recipe that I found on another blog: Turkey and Veggie spaghetti from Just A Titch. Thanks Amy!!

In my opinion, spaghetti is a pretty good staple food to make in college. It’s not easy to mess up. It doesn’t take very long. You can make a lot at once to put in the fridge and eat for a couple days. And, you can make it as healthy (or unhealthy) as you want it.

I used whole wheat spaghetti noodles – the thinner kind. I also used the same veggies as Amy did: asparagus, bell peppers, and broccoli. I used spaghetti sauce from a jar, and ground turkey that had Italian seasoning.

I live in a dorm that’s about 60 years old, give or take a couple years. It actually comes with a little kitchenette! Nothing fancy and a little dinky, but still a step up from the kitchen-less dorm rooms I have lived in before.

Kitchen view one – note the cell block walls and the 70’s-style groovy yellow counters. Don’t mind how it’s semi-messy :3

Kitchen view two- the stove. This was my set up while I was cooking the noodles. I have Teen Mom (yes, the MTV reality show, one of my guilty pleasures) on my laptop. The FiberOne is on the counter because of lack of cabinet space…

I followed the recipe pretty much verbatim as Amy described it.

And…how do I put this? I had never…um…browned meat before. (Surely I’m not the ONLY one, right?) But I found this AWESOME how-to on StartCooking.com. I’m going to check the rest of that website out because it looks pretty straightforward and useful.

This was the end result:

I mixed it all together in this bowl. I was talking to my boyfriend on speakerphone and said “Uhhh…can I call you back while I scarf down some of this pasta? It looks delicious…”

Scarf it down,  I did.

YUM!

It was delicious. Such a good break from the crappy, stereotypical college kid meals that I usually eat. And, I have enough left over for me to eat tomorrow, and probably the next day; and probably enough for my roommate, Bonnie, to have some as well.

This was my dessert:

I’m a fan of FiberOne products (you probably noticed the cereal on my counter earlier in the post). When I found out that FiberOne was coming out with brownies, I thought, HELLZ YEAH! And the brownie did not disappoint.

It was just the right size and had the right amount of sweetness to taste dessert-y. It had chocolate chips in it, which earns kudos from me, because my favorite brownies have chocolate chips in them.

And not only was it chocolate-y and peanutbutter-y (the perfect combination) it contained 90 calories and 20% of my daily value of fiber!

When I finish the spaghetti leftovers, I would really like to cook another college-living-friendly meal and blog about it on here. So I’m on the lookout for recipes now!

Have a delicious week, everyone.

Peace and Love,

Song of the Day: Awake and Alive by Skillet

Leave a Reply

