Choose Happiness

[source]

happy (comparative happiersuperlative happiest)

  1. Experiencing the effect of favourable fortune; having the feeling arising from the consciousness of well-being or of enjoyment; enjoying good of any kind, as peace, tranquillity, comfort; contented; joyous.
[via wiktionary.com]
Confession: recently, I have not been happy.
I’ve been stressed, sad, grumpy…feelings of that nature.
I’ve been thinking to myself, “I sure would be happy if ____” [fill in the blank]
If…
…I wasn’t taking classes.
…I had less responsibility.
…more of my friends were in town.
…I could take a vacation.
…I could get more sleep.
…I knew how to dress better.
…I knew how to do my makeup better.
…I had more money.
…I lost 10 pounds.
…I wore a smaller jeans size.
…I went to church more often.
…I saw my boyfriend more often.
But, ultimately, I believe that there is only one true way to fill in the blank:
I would be happy if I let myself be happy.
I keep thinking up all these scenarios that I think I would be happier in. I don’t ever think of how I can be proactive and be happy in my life right now.

proactive (comparative more proactivesuperlative most proactive)

  1. (proscribed) Acting in advance to deal with an expected change or difficulty
[via wiktionary.com]
I’m going to stop treating happiness like something that I have to wait for to find me. I have to find it.
I know that I can look to the Lord for all things. I know that I can find happiness in Him. I’m still trying to figure this out.
Hope everyone has a happy week.
Peace and Love,
And Happiness,
Leave a Reply

