Sorry I’m Not Sorry

[coming soon: a post about my awesome birthday and a post about my super-fun trip to New Orleans!]

Tumblr_lme9tfv6ku1qbyk3yo1_500_large

[source]

The title of this post is from an awesome post by Rachel Wilkerson. Read it. Now!

Here’s the deal.

It has taken ~20 years of having the same habits and the same reactions to certain situations to make me want to change.

Like many people, I am guilty of being overly concerned with what other people think of me. In many cases, I have changed for other people. I have put certain beliefs of mine on the back-burner in order to be more accepted. I have tried to change what I believe in order to be more accepted by other people.

Have I liked doing this? No. But my rationale was that I would like having friends more.

But if someone doesn’t want to be my friend because of how I really am, then that’s their loss.

I’m open-minded enough to befriend people of different belief systems than my own.

I should expect the same open-mindedness back; as long as I’m not being pushy with my beliefs. Which I never am.

I believe in having a filter from what goes from my brain to my mouth, but there’s a difference between filtering something and changing something altogether.

I’m going to be who I am for nobody but myself.

I’m not going to change the way I present myself in order to not offend anyone or to increase my chances of “being accepted”.

There are things I believe that I should not be apologetic about!

So from now on…

I’m going to own everything I do.

Sorry I’m not sorry!

Peace and Love,

Song of the Day: Country Lane by Telekinesis

One thought on “Sorry I’m Not Sorry

Leave a comment